New Media Writing Prize Awards Ceremony 2019

The Tenth Anniversary awards evening will be on January 15th 2020 at Bournemouth University. Register on Eventbrite to book a place – it’s free to attend and it will the best awards evening of the year! Here’s the lineup:

Digital Fiction Curios: VR Storytelling Hands-on – 3pm – 5pm, FG06, Fusion Building

Experience a range of immersive digital fiction works by One To One Developments Trust‘s creative studio Dreaming Methods which has been producing cutting-edge electronic literature for 20 years. Meet the artists, Andy Campbell and Judi Alston, and step inside Digital Fiction Curios, a magical Virtual Reality curiosity shop/digital archive created in collaboration with Professor Alice Bell (Sheffield Hallam University).

Pre awards drinks – 5pm – 6pm, Fusion Building

NMWP Awards Ceremony – 6pm – 8.30pm, Allsebrook Lecture Theatre

We will showcase the shortlisters, and the judges will be awarding prizes for:

  • The if:book New Media Writing Prize: £1000
  • The Unicorn Student Award – £750. Donated by Unicorn Training, Bournemouth.
  • The Dot Award: £500 to get a new project started. Donated by if:book UK.
  • The Future Journalism Award, £750 for the best digital interactive journalism.​ Awarded by Future PLC

Light buffet and drinks – 8.30pm Fusion Building.

Previous events

Digital Conversations at the British Library

As part of our tenth anniversary celebrations, the British Library are very kindly hosting a special event. A rare meeting of leading digital creators talking about their work, takes place on Thursday 18th July 2019, 6.30-8.30pm.

We have four amazing writers: Andy Campbell, Christine Wilks, Amira Hanafi, and Kayt Lackie will be discussing how they use digital media and user interactivity to create innovative, unique stories.

Follow this link for tickets/event details. You can also find out more on the British Library Blog by Digital Curator Stella Wisdom.