The Judges

Chris MeadeJudge of the DOT Award: Chris Meade recently completed his PhD in Digital Writing at Bath Spa University. His transmedia novel What Didn’t Quite and contextual research Nearlywriting Nearlyology can be found at He writes songs and performs with Chris & The Ifso. Founder of if:book uk, a charitable company exploring the future of the book and digital possibilities for literature, he’s written plays, comedy and articles, been CEO of the Poetry Society and Booktrust, made improvised music as a member of Academy Inegales, been a participant in Tino Sehgal’s 2012 installation These Associations at Tate Modern Turbine Hall, and is currently Chair of Modern Poetry in Translation magazine.

Brad Gyori – co-judging the What’s New in Journalism Award. Brad Gyori is a Senior Lecturer in Digital Storytelling at Bournemouth University. He holds a PhD in Rhetoric and Composition from Arizona State University and has taught both media theory and production at ASU and the Tribeca Flashpoint Academy in downtown Chicago. As a television writer-producer, he has worked for such networks as MTV, VH1, FX, E! and HBO online. For ten years, he was the Head Writer of the Emmy award winning Talk Soup. He has been nominated for five Emmys. Currently, Brad’s research focuses on interactive and locative narratives as tools to educate participants and celebrate cultural heritage. His articles have appeared in The Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media, Journalism and Mass Communication Educator, Interactive Storytelling, Journalism Education, The Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning and Flow. In 2014, his play Desolation Angels was presented as a staged reading by Chicago’s Steppenwolf theatre. In 2017, Gyori’s multi-media interactive play Shelley’s Heart debuted at the Shelley Theatre in Boscombe. He is currently writing and designing a location-aware story experience based on Shelley’s Heart and set in St. Peter’s churchyard in Bournemouth where Mary Shelley is buried along with the heart of her poet-husband.

Jackie Kennedy will be judging the Unicorn Student award. Since joining Unicorn in 1998 Jacqueline has had a variety of roles, the majority of which were centered around the Digital Learning area of the core Unicorn business. This included, project management, operational direction, course visualization and development and quality assurance through to her current role, awarded in 2012, of Chief Operating Office. Throughout this time Jacqueline has been responsible for the management and delivery of more than 300 creative eLearning projects, large and small. Jacqueline’s passion for lifelong learning, across professional qualifications and soft skills has led her to continue to study frequently throughout her career.

Jeremy Jenkins – judging the if:book award and the Unicorn Student Award. Brad Jeremy is Curator, Emerging Media in Contemporary British Collections at the British Library. He has experience of a working with wide range of formats both print and digital including artists’ books. Prior to that he was Curator, International Organisations & North American Official Collections where I have managed the shift from print to digital with three collections and curated large and complex collections of government publications. He has a wide range of interests ranging from the cultural history of conflict to contemporary art. He explores interactivity in writing in part through his involvement in recent British Library Summer Schools on Interactive Fiction and his work on emerging formats. In July 2018 was co-opted onto the Council of ARLIS (Art Libraries Society) UK & Ireland. His recent publications include: “The British Library, Europeana 1914-1918 and the Memorialisation of the Great War”, e-BLJ, (Electronic British Library Journal), Article 1 2018 and “‘This a private shindy or can any bloke join in?’: Why neutral Irish volunteered for service in the British Forces during the Second World War,” The Irish Sword, Vol. XXVIII, 2011.

Andy Campbell will be among the if:book and Unicorn Student Award judges. Andy Campbell is the Digital Director for arts/media charity One to One Development Trust and the founder/lead author of Dreaming Methods, One to One’s award-winning in-house Virtual Reality, digital storytelling and games development studio. He has been producing cutting-edge electronic literature for over 20 years.

Mary Hogarth will be co-judging the What’s New in Journalism Award. Mary is an experienced educator, media specialist, and writer. She previously headed up Features Journalism at Southampton Solent University and now teaches at Bournemouth University. With more than 20 years’ industry experience Mary set up The Magazine Expert Ltd, a consultancy practice in 2015, specialising in new title launches (print, online and digital), audience engagement, editorial development and sustainable business strategies. In 2014 she published How To Launch A Magazine In This Digital Age (Bloomsbury), followed by Business Strategies for Magazine Publishing (Routledge) in 2018 and is currently working on the 5th ed. of Writing Feature Articles.

Jeremy Walters will be co-judging the What’s New in Journalism Award. Jeremy is a 30 year veteran of the advertising, publishing and media industries. An alumnus of Southampton Univerisity, he started his career in a start-up division of Omnicom Group in the late 80’s and progressed working for a number of London advertising and marketing agencies. He has edited What’s New in Publishing, a B2B trade website and newsletter, since 2011.

Lisa Gee will be among the judges of the if:book Award and Unicorn Student Award. Lisa Gee is a Research Associate on the Ego-Media Project at Kings College London and a post-doctoral researcher at the Fitzwilliam Museum, University of Cambridge. She has recently completed her PhD in Digital Writing by Practice at Bath Spa University and is an author and editor.

Erika Fülöp will be co-judging the if:book UK award and the Unicorn Student Award: Erika Fülöp is Lecturer in French Studies at Lancaster University and member of the Authors and the World research hub. She previously held an Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship at the Interdisciplinary Center for Narratology at the University of Hamburg. Her research interests include narrative theory and modes of storytelling across the media with a focus on reflexivity, electronic literature, and digital culture more broadly, with particular attention to the changing role of the author, language(s), and what “writing” means in the digital environment. She has published a monograph titled Proust, the One, and the Many: Identity and Difference in A la recherche du temps perdu (Legenda, 2012) and articles on narrative theory and digital literature, and ran a project titled Screening the Literary. She is currently running another project on digital culture titled The Creative Web of Languages and co-authoring a book on French “video writing” on YouTube.

Peter Phillips will be judging the if:book UK award and the Unicorn Student award. He is a graduate of the London School of Economics and a qualified accountant. He began his career in the UK energy industry, where in 1981 he became the youngest ever British Coal Chief Accountant, and was Director of Studies of the industry management college until 1986, when he set up his own business “The Unicorn Training Partnership”, based in Bournemouth. Unicorn has grown each year to become a world leader in the development and use of strategic business simulations, and major provider of e-learning solutions to the UK insurance and banking sectors. In 2009 he was recognised for his Outstanding Contribution to e-learning at the UK industry awards.  Unicorn Training were ranked as the 2011 and 2013 UK Outstanding eLearning Company, and are delighted to once again support the New Media Writing Prize by sponsoring the Student Prize.