square copy

We are delighted to announce our judges for the 2017 Dot award


Chris Meade

IMG_1872 - Version 2

Chris Meade is a writer and founder of if:book UK and The Ifso Press. He has been involved in the New Media Writing Prize, as a speaker, sponsor, and organiser since its inception in 2010. He has an M.A. in New Media & Creative Writing from De Montfort University and is currently studying for a PhD in Digital Writing at Bath Spa University. He’s been CEO of the Poetry Society and BookTrust. His transmedia work in progress is at www.nearlyology.net

Hattie Coppard


Hattie Coppard is an artist, designer of play spaces and currently doing a PhD in Cultural Geography at Royal Holloway, University of London. Her company Snug & Outdoor have undertaken public art commissions and playground designs; designed the Snug kit which is sold to schools around the world, and are the play designers of the hugely popular Magic Garden which opened this year at Hampton Court Palace.

Jo Klaces

Jo Klaces is a retired English teacher , still tangling with language use and change. Wrote reviews of teen fiction for the Times Ed and was a judge for the first Booktrust Teen fiction prize. Prior to that, deep in the past, was involved with community arts in Birmingham ( where she has lived for 30 years) and wrote for Spare Rib. Messes about on her bike a lot now, reads to and venerates her grandchild.

George Palmer

george palmer

George Palmer is Head of Communications at Arvon, the national creative writing charity.  Before joining Arvon in 2011, George was Marketing Coordinator at Apples and Snakes, a performance poetry organisation, Sales and Marketing Manager at Poetry London, and in the more distant past has worked in public relations.